IFL down to five teams

Green Bay Blizzard football (WLUK).

(WLUK) – The league that the Green Bay Blizzard belongs to appears to be down to five teams, based on a league announcement Wednesday.

The Indoor Football League posted that five teams -- Arizona Rattlers, Cedar Rapids Titans, Green Bay Blizzard, Iowa Barnstormers, and Nebraska Danger -- “remain committed to the League.”

The league had 10 teams last season. The teams which have folded or left include the Wichita Falls Nighthawks, Spokane Empire, Salt Lake Screaming Eagles, Colorado Crush, and Sioux Falls Storm.

“The IFL and its member teams will have several exciting announcements to be released in the coming offseason,” the release states, but does not offer specific information if other teams will be added for 2018.

FOX 11's messages left with the IFL and the Blizzard seeking additional comment were not immediately returned.

According to a report by oursportscentral.com, the owners of Salt Lake plan to start a new league, called the Interactive Football League.

Spokane announced earlier this month it would be closing down.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off