Kimberly, Springs highlight HSGT football awards

Kimberly's D.J. Stewart is the FOX 11 offensive player of the year after rushing for nearly 2,300 yards and 28 touchdowns. (Doug Ritchay/WUK)

GREEN BAY (WLUK) -- The high school football season is now completed which means it's time to hand out season High School Game Time awards for Large Division and Small Division players and coaches of the year.

The Large Division is comprised of teams in divisions 1-3, while the Small Division is made up of teams from divisions 4-7.


Offensive player of the year

D.J. Stewart, Kimberly, RB: 2,299 yards, 28 TDs. Stewart carried the load this season on offense, especially in the postseason. In his last four postseason games, Stewart carried 136 times for 910 yards and nine touchdowns.

Defensive player of the year

  • Boyd Dietzen, Kimberly, DE; 67 tackles, 12 tackles for loss and eight sacks. The Wisconsin commit drew the attention of multiple blockers consistently and if he didn't make the play, his presence usually allowed some else to.

Coach of the year

  • Steve Jones, Kimberly. Once again Jones led his team to perfection and a fifth straight state title. Despite having to reload in plenty of positions, including quarterback, Jones found a way to extend Kimberly's winning streak to now 70 games.


Offensive player of the year

  • Bryce Huettner, Iola-Scandinavia, RB: 2,830 yards, 34 touchdowns. Huettner ran hard and had 10 games of more than 200 yards rushing. He was a big reason why the Thunderbirds reached the Division 6 state championship game.

Defensive player of the year

  • Clay Schueffner, St. Mary's Springs, LB: 129 tackles. The Flyway offensive and defensive player of the year was all over the field on defense. Schueffner was a big reason why Springs won the Division 6 state championship game as he recorded 14 tackles, including 1.5 tackles for loss and one forced fumble.

Coach of the year

  • Bob Hyland, St. Mary's Springs. The veteran coach led his team to a perfect season and the Division 6 state championship title.

More Awards

  • This season had too much going on to limit the awards to just players and coaches of the year. Here's more awards for this season.

Game of the year

  • Bay Port, 57, Stevens Point 51 (4 OT). This was a Level 2 playoff game and it was crazy. It appeared it was going to be a defensive battle after one half as the score was 7-6 at halftime. Then the offenses exploded, combining for 95 second-half points. Bay Port outlasted the Panthers in this Level 2 classic, repaying Stevens Point from a 2016 playoff loss.

Game of the year (featuring two local teams)

  • Kimberly 28, Fond du Lac 21 (Level 3). Fond du Lac lost, 35-28, to the Papermakers in Week 1, but the Cardinals seemed poised for revenge and ending the winning streak. With the ball inside the 5-yard line in the final moments the Cardinals looked like they would score a touchdown and maybe end the streak if they went for two points. However, a lost fumble cost Fondy any chance of stunning the Papermakers.

Sweeps of the year

  • Freedom over Little Chute and Wrightstown. What's better than beating your rival or rivals during the regular season? How about beating them in the playoffs and ending their season. That's what Freedom did as it beat Little Chute and Wrightstown twice this past season. Impressive to beat two quality teams twice in the same season.

Freshman of the year

  • Josh Blount, West De Pere. The quarterback led West De Pere to a 10-2 record and rushed for 1,082 yards and scored 17 touchdowns. Blount also added four TD passes. The future is awful bright for the young Phantom.

Best reload of the year.

  • Notre Dame. The Tritons entered the season having to replace 20 starters. It was a big hurdle for new head coach Mike Rader, but he figured it out. Notre Dame reached Level 4 of the playoffs and posted a 10-3 record.

Best quarterback-receiver duo

  • Hunter Plamann to Sam Ferris, Xavier. This duo was tough to contain this season. Plamann threw for 2,448 yards and 30 TDs, while Ferris hauled in 85 of those passes for 1,034 yards and 13 TDs.

Best quarterback replacement

  • Isaac Krause, Bay Port. Coach Gary Westerman wasn't sure how good Krause would be this season as a first-year starter. As it turned out, he was great. Krause was the Fox River Classic Conference offensive player of the year as he rushed for 1,103 yards and 12 TDs and threw for 1,787 yards and 15 TDs. Bay Port went 11-1 and won the FRCC for the second straight season.

Follow Doug Ritchay on Twitter @dougritchay

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off