Lindstrom lands on first team; LeClaire a second-team pick

Green Bay's Jessica Lindstrom was named to the All-Horizon first-team. (file photo)

GREEN BAY (WLUK) -- The Green Bay women's basketball team landed four members on All-Horizon League teams, with Jessica Lindstrom, Allie LeClaire, Jen Wellnitz and Karly Murphy receiving recognition for their play this season.

Green Bay ran away with its 20th-straight Horizon League championship and finished with a three-game lead in the final standings at 16-2. In recognition of its dominant campaign, the Phoenix also finished with the highest number of athletes honored by the league’s postseason awards.

Seniors Lindstrom and LeClaire led the way for Green Bay with all-league nods, as Lindstrom was named to first team and LeClaire to second.

Lindstrom was one of only five players in the Horizon League to average more than 15 points per game this season and the only to average a double-double. Lindstrom led the Horizon League averaging 10.4 rebounds per game and also set program records for all-time rebounds and double-doubles in the division I era. Lindstrom finished with a league-best four Horizon League player of the week awards.

Lindstrom was also named to the HL’s all-defensive team for the third-consecutive season.

LeClaire averaged 13.6 ppg. and finished second on the team in assists and steals. The former Notre Dame Academy star guard moved up to ninth place on Green Bay’s all-time scoring list this past weekend and will enter postseason play with 1,411 career points.

Wellnitz, now a two-time member of the Horizon League’s all-defensive team, led the nation’s top defense in steals throughout the season, averaging 2.4 spg.

Karly Murphy was named to the all-freshman team, starting 28 of 29 games while averaging 8.1 ppg. and 4.5 rpg..

Horizon League Individual Honors

Player of the Year: Chelsea Welch, Wright State

Coach of the Year: Austin Parkinson, IUPUI

Freshman of the Year: Macee Williams, IUPUI

Sixth Player of the Year: Taylor Jones, Oakland

Defensive Player of the Year: Jen Wellnitz, Green Bay

All-League First Team

Ashanti Abshaw, Cleveland State

Khayla Livingston, Cleveland State

Jessica Lindstrom, Green Bay

Danielle Lawrence, IUPUI

Chelsea Welch, Wright State

All-League Second Team

Allie LeClaire, Green Bay

Macee Williams, IUPUI

Steph Kostowicz, Milwaukee

Jenny Lindner, Milwaukee

Indiya Benjamin, Youngstown State

All-Freshman Team

Lexey Tobel, Detroit Mercy

Karly Murphy, Green Bay

Macee Williams, IUPUI

Kailey Coffey, Northern Kentucky

Chelsea Olson, Youngstown State

All-Defensive Team

Shadae Bosley, Cleveland State

Jessica Lindstrom, Green Bay

Jen Wellnitz, Green Bay

Jenna Gunn, IUPUI

Emily Vogelpohl, Wright State

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off