UW proposal approved, UW-Green Bay welcomes 3 campuses

Image source: UW System

GREEN BAY, MADISON (WLUK/AP) -- After the Higher Learning Commission approved a University of Wisconsin System restructuring proposal, Both the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay and UW-Oshkosh welcome new campus communities.

The proposal comes from UW-System President Ray Cross to merge the system's two-year and four-year schools. His plan calls for UW-Madison to take over administration of Wisconsin Public Television and Wisconsin Public Radio and system administration to run outreach efforts that were once UW-Extension's responsibility.

UW-Marinette, UW-Manitowoc and UW-Sheboygan will join Green Bay's branch. Green Bay will then encompass 16 counties and 700 employees, and expects an enrollment of 7,700 students.

UW-Oshkosh will take on the Fond du Lac and Fox Valley campus communities.

The merger will officially begin on July 1. UW officials say the transition will be complete sometime in 2020.

UW-Green Bay's chancellor looks forward to a bright future.

“When the Board of Regents approved this consolidation last November, I expressed the view that we have been presented an extraordinary opportunity,” UW-Green Bay Chancellor Gary L. Miller said in a release. “The work we have done together since that time has helped us begin to shape a vision for how the new unified university in Northeastern Wisconsin will work. In the coming transition year, we will clarify our vision and take our first steps forward together.”

The school's Board of Trustees says they are ready to get to work and make students feel welcome.

“As a group, we have many connections in the three communities. We are ready to work with everyone in the region to build on the transformation and momentum we have at UW-Green Bay to make this one of the best and most innovative universities in the country," said Chairman Lou LeCalsey.

Students can still apply for free to the Manitowoc, Marinette and Sheboygan campuses for fall 2018.

The Higher Learning Commission is an independent corporation that accredits degree-granting post-secondary schools in 19 states, including Wisconsin.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off