USDA offers loans to help farmers with Blizzard Evelyn recovery

Barn collapsed at Maple View Dairy Farm in Shawano County, April 24, 2018 (WLUK/Eric Peterson)

MADISON (WLUK) -- Farmers in nearly three-quarters of Wisconsin counties -- including all of Northeast Wisconsin -- may be eligible for emergency loans to help recover from Blizzard Evelyn.

Gov. Scott Walker's office says low-interest emergency loans are available from the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. In the wake of the April 13-15 storm, Walker toured Northeast Wisconsin farms to assess the damage. The blizzard dropped around two feet of snow across much of the area.

<="" sd-embed="">

“Wisconsin’s farmers are a key part of our state’s economy, our history, and our future,” Walker said in a news release. “We’re happy to announce that new resources may be available for farmers to help them overcome the damages from April’s snow storms. We are always listening to the needs of our farmers and look forward to working with them in the future to support our farming industry.”

The disaster designation covers these primary counties: Barron, Brown, Burnett, Door, Dunn, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Jackson, Kewaunee, La Crosse, Marinette, Monroe, Oconto, Outagamie, Polk, Portage, Rusk, Sawyer, Shawano, Trempealeau, Washburn, Waupaca and Wood. In addition, farmers in these neighboring counties are included: Adams, Ashland, Bayfield, Buffalo, Calumet, Chippewa, Clark, Columbia, Dodge, Douglas, Eau Claire, Florence, Forest, Juneau, Langlade, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marquette, Menominee, Pepin, Pierce, Price, St. Croix, Sheboygan, Taylor, Vernon, Washington, Waushara and Winnebago.

Farmers have eight months to apply for loans. For more information, farmers should contact their local Farm Service Agency office.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off