Northeast Wisconsin school districts receive safety grants

Wisconsin Attorney General Brad Schimel announces 20 schools in the state will receive safety grants in Wisconsin Dells, June 13, 2018. (WMTV-News)

(WLUK) -- Two Northeast Wisconsin school districts are getting a boost in funding to improve safety.

Wisconsin Attorney General Brad Schimel announced Wednesday more than $1.3 million in safety grants will be awarded to 20 schools around the state.

The Crivitz School District will receive a $20,000 safety grant and the Wautoma Area School District will get $84,435.

Listed below are other school districts receiving safety grants:

  • Barneveld School District, $38,949;
  • Benton School District, $57,975;
  • Big Foot Unified High School District, $13,975;
  • Bristol #1 School District, $22,925;
  • Kettle Moraine School District, $190,395;
  • Kewaskum School District, $106,347;
  • La Farge School District, $53,352;
  • Luck School District, $39,516;
  • Mauston School District, $188,275;
  • Prentice School District, $81,272;
  • Randall J1 School District, $21,935;
  • River Ridge School District, $55,000;
  • Rock County Christian School, $39,951;
  • St. Joseph School; $20,750;
  • Stevens Point Area Public School District, $279,827;
  • Trinity Evangelical Lutheran School, $18,334;
  • Union Grove J1 School District, $19,872;
  • Williams Bay School District, $28,960.

The district that will receive the largest grant is the Stevens Point Area Public School District at $279,827.

Earlier this month, Schimel announced the Kenosha School District was the first to receive a safety grant.

The grants stem from a law Governor Scott Walker signed in March, allowing $100 million to be distributed to schools that applied for them.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off