Multiple Northeast Wisconsin schools receive safety grants in latest round

Education (MGN Online photo).jpg

GREEN BAY (WLUK) -- More than a dozen schools in Northeast Wisconsin are the recent recipients of safety grants.

On Thursday, the Wisconsin Department of Justice released a list of 147 schools that will get $10.2 million worth of grants to make schools safer for students.

Some of the schools and districts in Northeast Wisconsin include: Ashwaubenon, Brillion, Denmark, Fond du Lac, Freedom, Green Bay Area Catholic Education, New London, Oshkosh, Ripon, Shiocton, Saint James Lutheran School in Shawano, St. Mary's Springs in Fond du Lac and Wrightstown.

Earlier this week, Green Bay Area Public School District announced it would be receiving $835,092, one of the largest school safety grants awarded so far.

Throughout the month of June, Attorney General, Brad Schimel, has awarded safety grants to schools that applied for them earlier this year.

Other schools in Northeast Wisconsin have received safety grants including Appleton, De Pere, Sturgeon Bay, Menasha, Crivitz and Wautoma.

The grants stem from a law Governor Scott Walker signed in March, allowing $100 million to be distributed to schools that applied for them.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off