Walker appoints Dairy Task Force 2.0 members

Cows at a Fond du Lac dairy farm on April 6, 2017 (WLUK/Mike Moon)

(WLUK) -- Several farmers, processors and representatives from related organizations from Northeast Wisconsin have been named to Gov. Scott Walker's Dairy Task Force 2.0.

Walker announced the task force last month. The effort led by the state agriculture department and University of Wisconsin System was created in response to a decline in milk and other commodity prices.

“The members of Wisconsin Dairy Task Force 2.0 reflect the breadth and depth of the Wisconsin dairy industry,” Walker said in a news release. “From dairy farmers to milk processors to allied organizations, the Task Force stands ready to discuss and recommend actions that will ensure our state’s proud dairy heritage remains strong moving forward.”

Members of the task force are:


  • Moriah Brey, Brey Cycle Farm LLC, Sturgeon Bay
  • Andy Buttles, Stone-Front Farm, Lancaster
  • Janet Clark, Vision Aire Farms, LLC, Rosendale
  • Tom Crosby, Crosby's River Valley Dairy, Shell Lake
  • Dave Daniels, Mighty Grand Dairy, Union Grove
  • Patty Edelburg, Front-Page Holsteins, Scandinavia
  • Don Hamm, Sandy Loam Farm, Fredonia
  • Ryan Klussendorf, Broadland Grass Farm, Medford
  • Shelly Mayer, Mayer Farm, Slinger
  • Dan Pearson, Pearson Farm, River Falls
  • Amy Penterman, Dutch Dairy, Thorp
  • Brody Stapel, Double Dutch Dairy, Cedar Grove
  • Charles Untz, Untz Farm, Lake Mills
  • Darin Von Ruden, Von Ruden Farm, Westby

Milk Processors and Marketers

  • Steve Bechel, Eau Galle Cheese Factory, Durand
  • Dave Buholzer, Klondike Cheese Company, Monroe
  • Rob Byrne, Schreiber Foods, Green Bay
  • Ted Galloway, Galloway Company, Neenah
  • Paul Scharfman, Specialty Cheese Company, Reeseville
  • Jerry Schroeder, Schroeder Milk Transit, Oconto Falls
  • Jeff Schwager, Sartori Cheese, Plymouth
  • David Ward, Cooperative Network, Madison
  • Elizabeth Wells, Organic Valley, La Farge

Allied Organizations

  • John Accola, Premier Cooperative, Prairie du Sac
  • Dennis Bangart, AgCountry Farm Credit Services, Marshfield
  • Michael DeLong, First Bank of Baldwin, Baldwin
  • Bradley Guse, BMO Harris Bank, Arpin
  • Melissa Haag, Lodi Veterinary Hospital, Lodi
  • Rene Johnson, Union Bank and Trust Co., Evansville
  • John Schmidt, Landmark Services Cooperative, Appleton
  • Chad Vincent, Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin, Madison

Mark Stephenson, director of dairy policy analysis at UW-Madison, will chair the task force.

The task force is hoping to schedule its first meeting for next month.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off