IUPUI to replace Valparaiso in the Horizon League

Image courtesy MGN Online.

GREEN BAY (WLUK) -- The Horizon League Board of Directors has unanimously approved the application for membership from Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis to join the Horizon League, which the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay is part of.

IUPUI officially will join the league July 1 and begin competition during the 2017-18 academic year.

“We are excited to welcome IUPUI to the Horizon League family,” said Horizon League Commissioner Jon LeCrone. “The Jaguars bring us tremendous competitive potential, particularly in men’s basketball, along with an engaged and energized city. Their addition solidifies our broad community partnerships in Indianapolis and is the right school at the right time.”

The Horizon League was down to nine teams as Valparaiso ls leaving for the American Atheltic Conference as of July 1.

The Jaguars compete in 18 of 19 Horizon League sports: men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s cross country, men’s and women’s golf, men’s and women’s soccer, men’s and women’s swimming, men’s and women’s tennis, men’s and women’s track and field (indoor and outdoor), softball and volleyball.

The Horizon League includes Cleveland State University, the University of Detroit Mercy, the University of Illinois at Chicago, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Northern Kentucky University, Oakland University, the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Wright State University and Youngstown State University.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off