Six new inductees named to Paper Hall of Fame

William Gilbert (left) and Hardev (Doug) Dugal (Brehm Family collection and Paper Discovery Center and Paper Industry International Hall of Fame)

APPLETON - The Paper Industry International Hall of Fame is inducting six new members, including two with ties to the area.

Arne Asplund, Hardev (Doug) Dugal, Martin Keyes, William Gilbert, Marja-Sisko Ilvessalo-Pfäffli, and George Tomlinson will join the Paper Hall of Fame during an induction ceremony on Oct. 9 at the Radisson Paper Valley Hotel in Appleton.

William Gilbert of Menasha was the founder and president of Gilbert Paper Company and under his leadership the production, sale, and distribution of fine writing papers was revolutionized.

Hardev (Doug) Dugal of Appleton was the director of environmental division at the Institute of Paper Chemistry, the founder of Integrated Paper Services, Inc., and a founder of the Paper Industry International Hall of Fame, Inc.

This year's inductees will join 117 others already in the Paper Hall of Fame.