Zinser, James, Blahnik named Packerland's best

Oconto senior guard Laken James was named the Packerland Conference co-player of the year. (Doug Ritchay/WLUK)
Oconto senior guard Laken James was named the Packerland Conference co-player of the year. (Doug Ritchay/WLUK)

Dakota Zinser, Laken James and Kennedy Blahnik were the best the Packerland Conference had to offer this year in boys and girls basketball and because of it they were named the conference’s player of the year.

Zinser, from N.E.W. Lutheran was named the boys player of the year, while James and Blahnik shared the girls award. Zinser led the Blazers to an 18-0 conference record and led the conference with 19.7 points per game.

Blahnik led Algoma to an 14-0 record and led the Wolves with 11.5 ppg. and grabbed 4.3 rebounds per game.

James, a UW-Green Bay recruit, led Oconto to a 12-2 league mark, good for second place, led the conference with 18.6 ppg. and 5.9 assists per game and was fifth in rebounding at 6.5 rebounds per game.

Packerland All-Conference Boys Basketball Teams

First Team

Dakota Zinser, N.E.W. Lutheran

Nathan Toenjes, N.E.W. Lutheran

Connor Moe, Oconto

Sam Koss, Algoma

Hunter Prokash, Algoma

Second Team

Kristian Zimmerman, N.E.W. Lutheran

Reggie Nimmer, Kewaunee

Mitchell Gerrrend, Southern Door

Mitchell Neubauer, Southern Door

Riley Dordier, Sturgeon Bay

Honorable Mention: Eliot Prokash, Algoma; Logan Brusky, Kewaunee; Trey Bumgardner, Sturgeon Bay; Jesse Mejia, Sturgeon Bay; Joey Sheehy, Sturgeon Bay; Drew Tanck, Sevastopol; Kyle Krueger, Oconto; Brady Erieau, Oconto; Corey Herbert, Oconto; Nick Kita, Gibraltar; Samuel Brock, N.E.W. Lutheran; Aaron Larsen, Southern Door; Austin Rohe, Southern Door; Austin Krohn, Sevastopol.

Player of the Year: Dakota Zinser, N.E.W. Lutheran

Packerland All-Conference Girls Basketball Teams

First Team

Laken James, Oconto

Jaelyn Jicha, Oconto

Kennedy Blahnik, Algoma

Meg Ryan, Algoma

Anna Dier, Algoma

Makenna Ash, Gibraltar

Second Team

Baleigh Delorit, Algoma

Sadie Nier, N.E.W. Lutheran

Emily Shallow, Oconto

Bailey Hanson, Southern Door

Honorable Mention: Hellen Hecht, Gibraltar; Amanda Bultman, Kewaunee; Brooke Geier, Kewaunee; Courtney Van Hout, Southern Door; Carolyn Mickey, Southern Door; Carli Van Gothem, Kewaunee; Carli Meyer, Oconto; Bailey Baudhuin, Southern Door; Caroline Haen.

Players of the year: Laken James, Oconto; Kennedy Blahnik, Algoma.